Skip to main content

In southern Africa, Elimination 8 countries — Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe — have formed a cross-border partnership to reach the bold goal of eliminating malaria by 2030.


In west Africa, eight nations — Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Chad, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal and The Gambia — have agreed to accelerate malaria elimination in the Sahel region, and the RBM Partnership is working with WHO and other partners to roll out the programme from 2018 onwards.


In July 2018, leaders at the 31st African Union Summit in Nouakchott have endorsed a new continent-wide campaign for a malaria-free Africa, which will be co-led by the RBM Partnership and the African Union Commission. Inspired by Senegal’s successful national campaign, “Zero Malaria Starts with Me” seeks to empower all Africans to take a stand in the fight against the deadly disease.


The RBM Partnership also works in close collaboration with the African Leaders’ Malaria Alliance (ALMA), including on engaging with the Regional Economic Communities (REC) of the African Union.


The African continent accounts for over 90% of global malaria cases and deaths. Just two countries – DRC and Nigeria – account for more than one-third (37%) of the total malaria burden.