Skip to main content

In May 2018, six countries of the Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS) – Cambodia, China, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Thailand and Viet Nam – signed a Ministerial Call for Action to Eliminate Malaria in the GMS before 2030. The call places particular focus on the threat of multidrug resistance to malaria elimination in the sub-region, which has been detected in a number of GMS countries over the last decade.


Meanwhile, several countries are on track to eliminate malaria by 2020, including China which registered zero indigenous malaria cases for the first time in 2017. In a remarkable public health achievement, Sri Lanka was certified by WHO as malaria-free in 2016.


In the Asia-Pacific region, the RBM Partnership works closely with the Asia-Pacific Leaders Malaria Aliance (APLMA).


The second contributor to global malaria burden in 2017 after Africa was the South-East Asia region (5% of cases). India alone contributes 60% of all malaria cases outside Africa.